top of page
  • Foto do escritorRenc Art

The power of women

In my family, all the women are creative. For example, my grandmother loved to sew and create clothes. She carefully chose the fabrics, assembled them, studied the morphology of the person, for whom she was created clothes. As for my mother, I always saw her with a brush in her hand, painting whenever she had a free minute.


Expressing creativity was bringing them fresh air in their daily life, devoted to their profession, household chores and education of children.


When I was a child, it was enough to give me paper and a pencil to occupy me for entire afternoons. I have always liked to draw. Pick a theme and then create around it. I particularly like to draw in black and white: choose black sheets, and draw with white pencils. What I really like about it, is being able to work on the shadows and the lights, and the proportions of the body.


One of my first creations is this drawing of a pregnant woman. I didn't want to give her a face, since she can represent every woman. Black and white allows to highlight the power of a body that carries life. I wanted to show something raw and powerful. We can also see the subject as a metaphor of creation. When I look at this drawing years later, I see it as a representation of the power of women embodied by their creativity, whatever its form.


"Color is descriptive. Black and white is interpretative". Eliott Erwitt



I hope you like it.


Sana

50 visualizações5 comentários

Posts recentes

Ver tudo

Overdose

bottom of page